Editorial / Opinion

Introducing the human computer: How a circuit made of people could be the building block of a new field [Editorial]

Samuel Arbesman and Nicholas A. Christakis, "Introducing the human computer," The Boston Globe, June 17, 2020

Links: Boston Globe

Downloads: Introducing the human computer (pdf)

Teaching Inclusion in a Divided World [Editorial]

Nicholas A. Christakis, "Teaching Inclusion in a Divided World," The New York Times, June 22, 2016

Downloads: Teaching Inclusion in a Divided World

Making Friends in New Places [Editorial]

Nicholas A. Christakis, "Making Friends in New Places," The New York Times, July 30, 2015

Downloads: Making Friends in New Places

Let’s Shake Up the Social Sciences [Editorial]

Nicholas A. Christakis, "Let’s Shake Up the Social Sciences," The New York Times, Sunday Review. July 19, 2013

Downloads: Let’s Shake Up the Social Sciences

Two Degrees of Separation from a Bomber [Editorial]

Erika Christakis and Nicholas A. Christakis, "Two Degrees of Separation from a Bomber," Time, April 23, 2013.

Downloads: Two Degrees of Separation from a Bomber

Whither Goes Free Speech at Harvard? [Editorial]

Erika Christakis and Nicholas A. Christakis, "Whither Goes Free Speech at Harvard?," Time, December 4, 2012

Downloads: Whither Goes Free Speech at Harvard?

Is It Really the End of Men? [Editorial]

Erika Christakis and Nicholas A. Christakis, "Is It Really the End of Men?," Time, September 11, 2012.

Downloads: Is It Really the End of Men?

Americans need to leave deadbeats behind [Editorial]

Erika Christakis and Nicholas Christakis, "Americans need to leave deadbeats behind," Financial Times, March 28, 2012.

Downloads: Americans need to leave deadbeats behind

Ohio School Shooting: Are Parents to Blame? [Editorial]

Erika Christakis and Nicholas A. Christakis, "Ohio School Shooting: Are Parents to Blame?," Time, February 28, 2012.

Downloads: Ohio School Shooting: Are Parents to Blame?

Our Concern Over ‘Indecency’ Is Misguided [Editorial]

Erika Christakis and Nicholas A. Christakis, "Our Concern Over ‘Indecency’ Is Misguided," Time, January 13, 2012.

Downloads: Our Concern Over ‘Indecency’ Is Misguided

Why Are We Depriving Our Teens of Sleep? [Editorial]

Erika Christakis and Nicholas A. Christakis, "Why Are We Depriving Our Teens of Sleep?," Time, November 18, 2011

Downloads: Why Are We Depriving Our Teens of Sleep?

Has Empathy Become the New Scapegoat? [Editorial]

Erika Christakis and Nicholas A. Christakis, "Has Empathy Become the New Scapegoat?," Time, October 12, 2011

Downloads: Has Empathy Become the New Scapegoat?

Jumping to Conclusions [Review]

N.A. Christakis, "Jumping to Conclusions," New York Times Book Review, June 26, 2011, page BR10. (published online June 24 under title "The Trouble with Common Sense").

Downloads: Jumping to Conclusions

The Trouble with Common Sense [Editorial]

Nicholas A. Christakis, "The Trouble with Common Sense," The New York Times, June 24, 2011.

Downloads: The Trouble with Common Sense

Let’s All Be Friends [Essay]

J. Crabtree and N.A.Christakis, "Let’s All Be Friends," Prospect, February 24, 2010.

Downloads: Let’s All Be Friends

A connected life is a great gift [Editorial]

Nicholas A. Christakis and James H. Fowler, "A connected life is a great gift," Los Angeles Times, November 26, 2009.

Downloads: A connected life is a great gift

The Bad News First [Editorial]

Nicholas A. Christakis, "The Bad News First," The New York Times, August 24, 2007.

Downloads: The Bad News First